top of page
  • 작성자 사진Moojo Kim

Diary Log (18): "HiMCM Review"

Wednesday 25th November 2020


Last week, my team submitted our paper for the High School Mathematical Contest in Modeling (HiMCM). As the leader of a team of 4, HiMCM was a great experience for me and the others for many reasons. For me, firstly, although I have experienced a lot of math in the form of simple problem solving, it was rare for me to actually utilize mathematics in the context of the real world. HiMCM has provided me a great opportunity to apply the mathematics I know into solving a complicated real-world problem and developing a working algorithm as a solution for the problem, and after submitting our solution paper I came to really appreciate that chance.


Moreover, HiMCM has provided me an opportunity to collaborate with my friends as a team leader for an intellectual activity. Rarely is it the case that we have to use our combined intelligence to solve a problem, since even when I compete in maths competitions as a team, most of the solving is done individually and during team rounds there is only a very short amount of time that we are actually collaborating together. During HiMCM, however, we did not have a short time limit that pressured us, nor was it possible for one individual in the team to provide a straightforward solution. It required the combined strength of all of us, and the sensation when a collaborative solution was found was one that I could never forget.


My qualities as a leader was tested during the 14-days period. As leader, it was my job to be in charge writing final draft of the 25-page paper, to allocate members with different areas to focus on (e.g. coding, calculations, drawing figures and diagrams, etc), and to help them when they are stuck. Honestly, I do believe that the amount of time and effort I devoted into the paper was indeed the most during the 14-days. However, this does not concern me since I was the leader and that is what a true leader must do – to put myself forward in doing the hard work so that members can be motivated and follow.


The results honestly do not matter. What does matter is that we have done our best, that there is no regret in anything that we have done, and that the true meaning in doing this is found in the process not in the result. What a great experience and life lesson it was! Check out our final version of the paper below.

11260
.pdf
PDF 다운로드 • 4.27MB

조회수 17회

최근 게시물

전체 보기
bottom of page